A sample text widget

Etiam pulvinar consectetur dolor sed malesuada. Ut convallis euismod dolor nec pretium. Nunc ut tristique massa.

Nam sodales mi vitae dolor ullamcorper et vulputate enim accumsan. Morbi orci magna, tincidunt vitae molestie nec, molestie at mi. Nulla nulla lorem, suscipit in posuere in, interdum non magna.

home » releases » Breaking Point
Breaking Point

Breaking Point

Pivotal work from Freddie Hubbard – a tight, edgey quintet side with a sound that approaches the Blue Note “new thing” sound, but which stays just this side of the fence to keep in line with Freddie’s other soulful work of the 60s! The group features some great work by James Spaulding, who gets a lot of solo room on alto and flute – and Ronnie Matthews is on piano, effortlessly shifting between rhythmic and soulful lines, and passages that get a bit darker and deeper. The tunes are nearly all Freddie Hubbard originals, except for the classic “Mirrors”, written by drummer Joe Chambers. Other tunes include “Breaking Point”, “Far Away”, “Blue Frenzy”, and “D Minor Mint”. (courtesy of

Une œuvre charnière pour le trompetiste Freddie Hubbard, avec un quintet resserré et efficace, entre « Blue Note  New Thing » et le son « soul jazz » qui est la marque de fabrique de Freddie Hubbard pendant les 60’s. Le groupe est composé de James Spaulding, qui prend de nombreux solo au sax alto mais aussi  à la flute, du pianiste Ronnie Matthews qui jongle entre les lignes rythmiques soulful et des passages plus profonds et sombres, de Joe Chambers à la batterie et Eddie Khan à la bass. Les compositions sont toutes de Freddie Hubbard, excepté le classique « Mirrors » qui est de Joe Chambers.